Press Release : ITU Awards President of Rwanda Mr Paul Kagame, President of Republic of Korea Ms Park Geun-hye, and Mr Carlos Slim

World Telecommunication and Information Society Award 2014 focuses on broadband connectivity for sustainable development

Geneva, 2 May 2014 – ITU Secretary-General Hamadoun I. Touré announced the winners of the 2014 World Telecommunication and Information Society Award. Mr Paul Kagame, President of the Republic of Rwanda; Ms Park Geun-hye, President of the Republic of Korea; and Mr Carlos Slim, Chairman, Grupo Carso and President of the Carlos Slim Foundation have been honoured in recognition of their leadership and dedication towards promoting ICT development and broadband connectivity as a means of achieving sustainable development.

President Kagame is recognized for his leadership in the advancement of education and the potential of ICT as a dynamic industry as well as an enabler for Africa’s socio-economic transformation. He currently serves as Chairman of the UN Secretary General’s Advisory Group on UN MDG Advocacy Group.

President Park is the leader of the Republic of Korea, which has consistently topped ITU’s ICT Index for Measuring the Information Society. The Government has unveiled a set of long-term plans that foster creative talent, a move that establishes a new paradigm towards building a vibrant national economy in a digital environment.

Full press release

Share Button