Press release: Full election results from 19th ITU Plenipotentiary Conference

‘Continuity’ the theme as delegates choose familiar faces to lead organization through next four years

Busan, 27 October 2014 — Member States of the International Telecommunication Union have completed the election process that confirms candidates in the organization’s five elected posts, as well as the 12 members of the Radio Regulations Board and the 48 Members of ITU Council, the administrative body that governs ITU in between quadrennial Plenipotentiary Conferences.

Houlin Zhao of China was successful in his bid to become the next Secretary-General of the Union, after eight years as Deputy-Secretary General and a further eight years in the elected post of Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau. He won with 152 votes, with 152 countries present and voting.

Malcolm Johnson of the United Kingdom was announced as ITU’s new Deputy Secretary-General in the fourth round of voting, with 104 votes and 168 countries present and voting. In his address to assembled delegates in the Plenary session on Friday afternoon, Mr Johnson paid tribute to the quality of candidates for what proved this conference’s most fiercely-contested post: “Having such a qualified and diverse field of candidates is testament to our commitment to the Union and bodes well for its future. I hope we can rely upon their continuing participation in ITU and I look forward to working with them over the next four years.”

Read the full text:

Share Button