Communiqué: ITU Management team inauguration on 15 January

ITU pledges commitment to innovation as it celebrates 150th anniversary

Geneva, 14 January 2015 – ITU’s new management, led by Secretary-General Houlin Zhao, will be formally inaugurated tomorrow, 15 January 2015 in the presence of Permanent Representatives of Member States to the United Nations Office at Geneva and Heads of UN agencies. The ceremony will take place at 10:30 am in ITU’s Popov Hall, Tower Building. Webcast will be available at:

Mr Houlin Zhao of the People’s Republic of China was elected Secretary-General at the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference last October in Busan, Republic of Korea. He was previously ITU Deputy Secretary-General for two four-year terms (2006-2014) and Director of the ITU Standardization Bureau for another two terms (1998-2006).

Mr Malcolm Johnson of the United Kingdom was elected ITU Deputy Secretary-General. He was previously the Director of the ITU Standardization Bureau for two four-year terms.

For full text see:

Share Button