New standard on inter-cloud computing

Cloud computing experts have reached first-stage approval (‘consent’) on a standardized framework for inter-cloud computing, an architecture whereby cloud service providers (CSPs) benefit from the services or resources of partnering CSPs to satisfy customer needs as dynamically as possible.

The consent (initiation of the approval process) was achieved at a recent meeting of ITU-T Study Group 13 (Future Networks) in Kampala, Uganda, 4-15 November, at the kind invitation of Uganda Communications Commission. The new standard joins ITU’s growing suite of cloud computing standards as the fifth to be agreed in 2013, following a framework and high-level requirements (ITU-T Y.3501), infrastructure requirements (ITU-T Y.3510), a framework for end-to-end resource management (ITU-T Y.3520), and a security framework (ITU-T X.1600 – yet to be published).

Recommendation ITU-T Y.3511 “Framework of inter-cloud computing for network and infrastructure” describes the framework for the interaction of multiple CSPs that might underlie the fulfillment of a single CSP’s service contracts with its customers.

The standard describes the possible relationship patterns among multiple CSPs – namely ‘peering’, ‘federation’ and ‘intermediary’ – based on several inter-cloud computing use cases and the consideration on different types of service offerings. It continues to introduce the concept of ‘primary’ and ‘secondary’ CSPs; the primary being the CSP required to fulfill a service contract with a customer, and the secondary the most immediate CSP that interworks its services and resources with other partnering CSPs to aid the primary CSP in its delivery of services. Building on these concepts, the interaction of CSPs in federation and intermediary patterns is discussed in-depth and Y.3511 concludes with the derivation of functional requirements for inter-cloud computing.

Although not integral parts of the Recommendation, Y.3511 also provides three annexes which detail “Use cases from the inter-cloud perspective”, “Use cases from telecom and non-telecom providers’ views”, and “Abstract service offering models for inter-cloud computing”.

Nine other standards found consent at SG13’s meeting:

  • ITU-T Y.1903 “Functional requirements of mobile IPTV”
  • ITU-T Y.2254 “Capabilities of multi-connection to support enhanced Multimedia Telephony (eMMTel) services”
  • ITU-T Y.2253 “Capabilities of Multi-connection to Support Streaming Service”
  • ITU-T Y.3032 “Configurations of node identifiers and their mapping with locators in future networks”
  • ITU-T Y.3045 “Smart ubiquitous networks – Functional architecture of content delivery”
  • ITU-T Y.3033 “Framework of Data Aware Networking for Future Networks”
  • ITU-T Y.2065 “Service and capability requirements for e-health monitoring services”
  • ITU-T Y.2064 “Energy saving using smart objects in home networks”

TAP determined:

  • ITU-T Y.2725 “Support of OpenID in NGN” (TAP equivalent of consent – ‘determined’)

In addition, two Recommendations achieved final approval:

  • ITU-T Y.2723 “Support for OAuth in next generation networks”
  • ITU-T Y.2724 “Framework for supporting OAuth and OpenID in NGN”

More information on ITU-T Study Group 13 can be found here…

Share Button