Leo Lehmann elected Chairman of ITU-T Study Group 13

Leo Lehmann of Switzerland’s Federal Office of Communications (OFCOM) has been elected Chairman of ITU-T Study Group 13 (Future networks and cloud), taking up the position held by Chaesub Lee prior to his election as Director of the ITU Telecommunication Standardization Bureau at the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference 2014.

ITU-T Study Group 13 led ITU’s standardization of next-generation networks (NGNs) and now caters to the evolution of NGNs while focusing on future networks and network aspects of mobile telecommunications, including those relevant to the ‘5G’ development of International Mobile Telecommunications (IMT) for 2020 and beyond. Cloud computing forms an important part of this work, with the group developing standards that detail the requirements and functional architectures of the cloud computing ecosystem.

Leo was Vice-Chairman of ITU-T Study Group 13 from 2008 to 2014 and Vice-Chairman of the ITU-T Focus Group on Disaster Relief Systems, Network Resilience and Recovery (FG-DR&NRR) from 2012 to 2014. From 2002 to 2008, he served as Rapporteur on “multimedia service mobility management” in ITU-T Study Group 16 (Multimedia).

An internationally recognized expert, Leo has worked in telecommunications for 23 years and has experience in private industry as well as the public sector. Prior to joining OFCOM in 2002, Leo held senior management positions in network engineering, system design and services at major telecommunications players on both the vendor and operator side of business.

More information on ITU-T Study Group 13 can be found on the group’s homepage.

Share Button