Press release: Deadline reached for switchover from analogue to digital TV for 119 countries in Europe, Africa, Middle East and Central Asia

ITU symposium highlights new developments and innovation in TV

Geneva, 17 June 2015 – The deadline for the switchover from analogue to Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT), set at 00:01 UTC on 17 June 2015, heralds the development of ‘all-digital’ terrestrial broadcast services for sound and television for 119 countries belonging to ITU Region-1 (Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Central Asia) and the Islamic Republic of Iran. The 17 June deadline for switching off analogue television broadcasting in the UHF band was set by ITU Member States at the Regional Radiocommunication Conference in 2006, known as the GE06 Regional Agreement. Several countries that are party to the GE06 Agreement, as well as many who are not, have already made the transition. Updated information on the status of the transition to digital terrestrial Broadcasting is available here.

For full text see:

Share Button